What’s New

  • Home >
  • Press & Public Affairs >
  • What’s New
A Memorial Service to honor Dr. Rhee Syng-man view
A Memorial Service to honor Dr. Rhee Syng-man
Date 2008-07-23 오후 4:37:44 View 2350
The 43nd memorial service was held by the Association of Commemorative Services for the first president Rhee, Syng-man at the Seoul National Cemetery at 10:00 am of July 19, 2008. Dr. Rhee was an independence activist during the Japanese colonial rule and elected the first president of South Korea after liberation.

The service was attended by Vice Minister Lee Jong-jung of Patriots and Veterans Affairs, 300 or so people, including members of the Korea Liberation Association and Association of Commemorative Services for the first president Rhee, Syng-man.

Dr. Rhee Syng-man (March 26, 1875 – July 19, 1965) was born in Pyeong-san, Hwanghae Province in the North. He published a weekly newspaper called Hyupsung bulletin in 1896 and sharply criticized the government in the weekly.

He went to the US in November, 1904, and graduated in 1907 from The George Washington University, from Harvard University in 1909. He enrolled at Princeton University in September of 1909, apparently obtained a Ph.D. in Politics on June 14, 1910 and then, returned to Korea. He was appointed as a representative of World Methodist Conference and went back to the US. He settled in Hawaii and published Korea-Pacific magazine and devoted himself to independence movement, cooperating with Park, Young-man and Ahn, Chang-ho.

When the Provisional Korean Government in Shanghai was established after the March 1st Movement in 1919, he was elected as the president of the provisional government. He also participated in the Washington Disarmament Conference May, 1912 and in the Council of the League of Nations, Geneva in 1933 to expose the Japanese aggression.

When the Pacific War broke out after the attack on Pearl Harbor on December 8th, 1940, he appealed for unity of all Koreans through VOA. After Japan`s surrender he returned to Korea on October 16th, 1945 and was elected as the first president of the Republic of Korea in 1948.

He was decorated with Republic of Korea Medal which is the highest among five Orders of Merit for National Foundation in 1949.
add 2008723163744.bmp [578.29kb]